Explainer Politics

Your Guide to the County General Election 2018

Row of voting booths

“Bad officials are elected by good citizens who do not vote.”

– George Jean Nathan

Every four years, our community makes a choice. We head into the voting booth, we look at the candidates listed, and we choose. In that moment, we set the course for Fayetteville and Lincoln County in the coming years.

The people we chose for local government are the ones that have the most impact on our day-to-day lives. Here’s just a few things our local government decides:

  • Local taxes – property, sales, wheel, etc.
  • Policing and public safety
  • School quality and safety
  • Jobs and jobs training programs
  • Roads, sewer, Internet access, and other infrastructure

And the list goes on and on and on. Our local government sets the priorities and future of our community.

To help you decide which candidates deserve your vote, I’ll be talking with all of them running for local office. You’ll hear each candidate’s vision for our community. You’ll hear their plans on jobs and roads and future growth. You’ll hear straight from them on why their ideas are the right choice for us.

The list below has all the candidates along with what office they’re running for. As we add more interviews, they’ll be linked up in the list below.

The Candidates

You’ll vote for one county mayor candidate.

You’ll vote for three commissioners in your district. Each district is below with the current incumbents and the new candidate shown next to their name.

If you need to see which district you’re in, check out the district map here.

District 1

District 2

District 3

District 4

District 5

District 6

  • Doug Cunningham – Incumbent
  • Roger P. Martinez Jr. – New Candidate
  • Tori Ogle Young – Incumbent

District 7

District 8

You’ll vote for one school board member in each of these districts:

District 1

District 3

  • Susan Mcalister Cowley

District 5

District 7

  • Jared W. Bradley

Dates to Remember

Mark these dates on your calendar:

  • Last Day to Register to Vote – July 3rd
  • Last Day to Request Absentee Ballot – July 26th
  • Early Voting – July 13th to July 28th
  • Election Day – August 2nd

Register to Vote

You’ve got three options to register:

  • Online – Head over to the GoVoteTN site here to register.
  • By Mail – Print the voter registration form here and send it in by mail.
  • In-Person – Stop by 208 Davidson Street East  Room 106 here in Fayetteville. The Election Commission is open Monday thru Friday from 8:00am to 4:00pm. You can fill out the registration form there.

Where to Vote

For early voting, head down to the Election Commission at 208 Davidson Street East – Room 106.

On election day – August 2nd – you’ll head to your voting place. Look up your voter information here to find that location.

If you find yourself with questions on how to register or where to vote, let us know in the comments!

0 comments on “Your Guide to the County General Election 2018

Share Your Thoughts